At the Board Meeting in June, 1997, the Board established a Distinguished Service Award for RIS members at the
apt and timely suggestion of John Weiler. It was pointed out that this was to be a service award, not a hybridizer's award.

The award committee is now composed of past recipients and the currently serving president of the Reblooming Iris Society.

The first recipient was Raymond G. Smith who promoted rebloomers at a time when they faced a lack of credibility and a great deal of scorn.

Distinguished Service Award recipients are:

1997 -- Raymond G. Smith
1998 -- John Weiler and Lloyd Zurbrigg
1999 -- Ben Hager, Earl Hall, and Frank Jones
2000 -- Rosalie Figge
2009 -- Charlie Brown

In 1998, John Weiler's far-reaching proposal was accepted to issue an International Certificate of Recognition to award rebloomer supports in
a foreign country.

International Certification of Recognition recipients are:

1998 -- Giovanni Edoardo Nogaro of Italy received the first International Certificate.
1999 -- Nico de Geus of the Netherlands
2003 -- Freda Cook of Great Britain

See also the Features Page

Awards:  All AIS awards except ECs are based on voting by AIS judges on performance in the garden

HC - Highly Commended - for a non-introduced seedling as judged in the garden and receiving five judges votes.

EC - Exhibition Certificate - awarded to the best seedling in an iris show or receiving five votes from judges present.

HM - Honorable Mention - award for an introduced variety eligible the second year after its introduction.

AM - Award of Merit - required award for eligibility for all yearly awards (eligible second year after receiving HM)

Special Medals - Yearly awards given to the top voted cultivar

All awards. by year, are shown on the AIS website: Awards-Symposiums

Medal Name
Iris Classification Type
Caparne-Welch Medal: Miniature Dwarf Bearded
Cook-Douglas Medal: Standard Dwarf Bearded
Hans and Jacob Sass Medal: Intermediate Bearded
Knowlton Medal: Border Bearded
Williamson-White Medal: Minature Tall Bearded
John C. Wister Medal: Tall Bearded
C. G. White Medal: Aril (1/4 Ancestry)
William Mohr Medal: ArilBred (pure to 1/2 breed)
Morgan-Wood Medal: Siberian
J. A. Payne Medal: Japanese
Mary Swords Deballion Medal: Louisiana
Founders of SIGNA Medal: Species
Randolph-Perry Medal: Species X
Sydney B.
Mitchell Medal:
Eric Nies Medal: Spuria
Fred and Barbara Walther Cup: Winner of most HM votes
Dykes Memorial Medal:
Highest Award of
any class
Must have won an AM to qualify